Winter Blossom

Winter Blossom

winter blossom
melting my heart
as the chill sets in
around melancholic faces
my face lights up
like a beacon of fire

winter blossom
thawing my heart
I want to touch
petals of finest beauty
my eyes are alive
full of pure desire

winter blossom
flint to my heart
fan the ember
and give me life
but winter lingers
ever longer, cooling fire

oh the irony:
winter blossom
only thrives in snow
the romantic fool
will freeze to death
as he proclaims his
feelings atop
snowy mountain

Francois Hermanus Steyn – May 2013

Orange Flower

Leave a Reply

